Welsh National Youth Fly Tying Championship 2008

Well supported competition – see the Results

2008 Welsh National Youth Fly Tying Championship



The 2008 Youth Fly-tying Championship was held at the Elan Valley Hotel, Rhayader on


Sunday, 24th February.



The judges – Cliff Harvey and Alan Barcalay – said that the standard achieved by all the competitors was very high and they wish to thank all coaches who give of their time and expertise to teach this wonderful art form to the younger members of their clubs.



The winners this year were:



Under 14 years of age:




1st Macauly Tucker, Pontardawe



2nd Trystan Davies, Llandysul



3rd Aaron Walters, Teifi Trout Association



14 – 18 years of age:



1st Kieron Jenkins, Abercynon



2nd Carwyn Williams, Llangennech



3rd Jamie Phillips, Carmarthen Youth Association



Winner of the Terry Fenton Memorial Shield for the best tied fly overall:


Kieron Jenkins. Abercynon