Molly Sweet and Half Moon Competition Result 2016.


…                  On Sunday 18th September, the Annual Molly Sweet and Half Moon Competition were fished on the banks of Clywedog Reservoir. The excited anticipation of catching bags full of fish soon disappeared as it became obvious that the fish had decided to take a day off and refused to play, although as it turned out, it was one of those occasions when local knowledge proved invaluable and secured prime positions for those anglers at the weigh-in.    Local Angler Ken Llewellyn weighed in a bag of six fish for an impressive total of 22lbs 01oz. which included one of Gaza’s pets, a fat rainbow trout of 8lb 06oz. won him the ‘Terry Fenton Trophy’ for the best individual bag.



                   Supported by his Clywedog Osprey ‘A’ teammates, Wyn Gwalchmai and Rob Davies, they returned a total team bag of 13 fish which, by weighing 38lbs 10oz made them this years clear and undisputed winners of the ‘The Molly Sweet Trophy’  


                 For the ‘Half Moon Trophy’ they united with their mates, Phil Baker, Graham Evans and Peter Penlington of the Clywedog Osprey ‘B’ team.  Peter Penlington had weighed in the second heaviest fish of the day at 02oz and the teams bag of 6 fish for 16lb 14oz, when combined with the ‘A’ team weight, gave an outstanding winning six man total team weight of 56lb 08oz. which was over three times better than the runners up weight.

                 On this occation some winners were, as a possible future incentive, also presented with a small monetary prize which included a second individual best bag to last years winner, Wayne Cooksey of ‘The (original) Ospreys ‘C’” who weighed 5 fish for 14lb 07oz.

                Congratulations are extended to all prize winners and commiserations to those who didn’t quite succeed at this time, especially the angler who caught 5 brown trout that had to be returned.

                On this occation several excellent anglers, including myself, were unable to catch any fish but lookout next year.