Welsh Salmon And Trout Angling Association
Home Who are we What we do WSTAA Officers Conservation WSTAA News Welsh Teamss
Congratulations to the Welsh Team on their GOLD WINNING performance at the IFFA River International  
Winning Welsh Rivers Team of 2009 (Click to view larger picture)
Warmest congratulations to the 2009 River Team on winning the GOLD MEDAL at the International match on the river Taff last week. In a keenly contested match the Welsh team under the captaincy of Allen Hughes really came up trumps. Allen together with Paul Jenkins, Dean Kibble, Philip Jehu,Gareth Jones and Anthony Cartwright (reserve) had spent hours on the river doing their homework and on match day this certainly paid dividends. Edgar George, who worked tirlelessly with the Team and with Tony Rees in the promotion of the match and its favourable result  spoke highly of the team's skill, determination and dedication - something that shone through during the four session match on the river. The English,Irish and Scottish teams in congratulating Wales willingly conceded that on this occasion 'the best team had won'.
Back row l - r  Moc Morgan (International President), Edgar George (Team Manager), Dean Kibble, Paul Jenkins, Allen Hughes (Cpt), Gareth Jones, Ian Campbell (International Secretary) Front Kneeling - Anthony Cartwright, Philip Jehu
Wales 92 Fish 4227 Points 34 Placings
England 63 Fish 2786 Points 45 Placings
Ireland 60 Fish 2735 Points 56 Placings
Scotland 33 Fish 1495 Points 65 Placings
Allen Hughes (Click to view larger picture)
In his speech at the International Dinner, Allen Hughes, on behalf of his team, expressed his gratitude to all the controllers who had come along and played their part so superbly on the day. Without their help and support it would not have been possible to stage such a prestigious event her in Wales. His appreciation and gratitude was re-iterated by the captains of the other three teams

 Allen Hughes - on behalf of the winning team - receiving the Geoff Clarkson Trophy from International President Moc Morgan

Phil Jehu (Click to view larger picture)The 'Moc Morgan Trophy' for the highest points scorer went to the youngest member of the Welsh Team - PHILIP JEHU. 

There was jubilation all round when Philip's name was announced. Philip is a Merthyr lad whose love of the river Taff is second to none. This was a brilliant performance by a quiet, unassuming yet fantastic angler. Well done Philip! We all applaud you!
Individual Winner: Philip Jehu Placings 5  (Philip came in first in three sessions and second in the other)

Paul Jenkins had a total of 5 placings too but Philip's 1082 points made him the clear winner on this occasion with Paul as runner-up.
International President, presents the Moc Morgan Trophy to Philip Jehu


Copyright 2006 - 2013 © wstaa.org All rights reserved. Privacy Statement | Administrators